You Are Not Your Past

Leslie's Updated Photo

You are not your past.  This is your season to live and not hide behind your salty tears.  So often in life, you may hide behind hurt words or shameful acts that hinder your growth or spiritual walk.  In this season,  I believe that God’s calling you to operate on a higher level.  He’s calling me and you to live beyond hurt words, empty promises, or illusions that are holding me and you hostage as I’ve spoken about in my YouTube video below.

I vividly remember the first day I found out I was becoming a mom for the first time at sixteen.  My tears consumed me like raging water that broke free from a vulnerable dam.   My heart ached.  My throat became so enlarged as if I had swallowed an entire apple.  I felt numbed.  I couldn’t move.  I was young.  I was ashamed.

For the longest time, people talked about me.  My classmates, community members, and church members spoke negatively about my condition as if I was the first person ever to have a baby out of wedlock. Through all the negative talk, I distinctively recalled wanting to hear positive words of encouragement, but instead, I was left feeling ostracized.

As I continuously grow in my Christian walk today,  I often think of that difficult time in my life.  I think about the power of words…my words…my actions.  I  contemplate how those very words tarnished my heart, broke bonds and stripped me bare without ever touching me.

Daily, I think about the number of people that suffer from SHAME because they secretively live in the past.  Today, I understand the power of setting myself free. It’s refreshing not living the lies of others.  I won’t lie.  Freedom comes at a price, and sometimes that price is walking away from negative people who attempt to hold you “emotionally hostage” concerning your past.

Therefore, as you read these words, understand that God loves you so much because He is not a ‘respector of persons’. He validates His love to you daily.  He wants you to live a liberating life where you are no longer ashamed of who you are.  I did it and so can you.  How did I do it?  I started by implementing the following proactive strategies:

1.) I was honest with myself.

2.) I forgave myself.

3.) I learned how to love myself.

4.) I set healthy boundaries.

5.) I forgave those who hurt me.

6.) I live my truth.

7.) I pray daily.

8.) I laugh a lot.

9.) I meditate.

10.) I befriend positive people.

I hope these words minister to your heart.  Please share and comment. I always look forward to reading your replies. Or, if you like, drop me a personal message at shamenomore001@gmail.com.

You are not your past,

Leslie a/k/a ShameNoMore

Like SNM on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/shamenomore001

Follow SNM on Twitter @shamenomore001

Like SNM on Instagram @shamenomore001

Support ShameNoMore’s first book The Thorns Within…by L.E. Brown on Amazon and Barnes and Nobles.

Leave a Reply

